Protected Characteristics

at Harewood Primary School



  • It is important that all children gain an understanding of the world they are growing up in, and learn how to live alongside, and show respect for, a diverse range of people.
  • No form of discrimination is tolerated and pupils are taught to show respect for those who share the protected characteristics.
  • Being respectful is one of our 7 core school values and one of our 4 school rules.
  • Protected characteristics are taught as an integral part of lessons and weekly assemblies.
  • The curriculum is planned and delivered so that children develop age-appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at Harewood.

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected.  Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

At Harewood, we actively promote these in our curriculum and work to embed them into our ethos.


We use a range of books to promote protected characteristics in school.